Book review: The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf, by Ambelin Kwaymullina

Kwaymullina, Ambelin. The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf. Candlewick Press, 2014. 369 pgs. $17.99. ISBN 978-0-7636-6988-1. Ages 12 and up.

Kwaymullina Ashala WolfThe tag line for this novel is “I walk among my enemies. But I carry my friends with me.” This is made so true as you read this book. It is about a tribe of gifted people whom the government is trying to eradicate. They capture the leader, Ashala Wolf, and try to find out where the tribe is so they can be an end to them. They have a machine that can enter a person’s thoughts and extract even the most hidden thoughts. The question is will the tribe survive while Ashala is in the hands of the enemy.

I am a “spoiler enjoyer.” I like to read the book to learn the players, then go to the end and read that, (I hate unhappy endings). I always finish the book, but I have to know if it ends happily. This book has so many twists and turns that even though I read the end, I didn’t know the ending. LOVED IT!!!

January 2016 review by Kris Cooper.

[Editor’s note: According to the author’s website, “Ambelin Kwaymullina is an Aboriginal writer and illustrator from the Palyku people.”  http://www.ambelin-kwaymullina.com.au]

Leave a Reply

