Book review: I Don’t Like Snakes, by Nicola Davies, illustrated by Luciano Lozano

Davies, Nicola. I Don’t Like Snakes. illus. Luciano Lozano. Candlewick Press, 2015. 29 pgs. Includes index. $15.99. ISBN:978-0-7636-7831-9. Gr. 3+. P8Q8

Davies I Dont Like SnakesI have always felt that there is nothing scarier than a snake, something I learned to fear from two older brothers who would chase me with one. This book spoke to my soul as I too “DON’T LIKE SNAKES.” After reading this book do I still fear them? I have to answer yes. I have however been educated more about them and in a way, that if I was younger and not set in my ways I may have changed my mind. The illustrations are done in mixed media and support the information in the book. I, however would have liked to have seen a closer image of the scales on a snake’s head, as they use them to move in a straight line. There is a note, included in the front of the book that states that a snake, which was labeled as a coral snake, on page 15 is really a harmless milk snake. The confusion was because the markings of these two snakes are very similar.

November 2015 review by Carol Bernardi.

[Editor’s note: This book combines a fictional story about a girl afraid of snakes, though her family has them as pets, which includes factual information about snakes and an index.]

Leave a Reply

