Book review: What a Wonderful World, by Bob Thiele and George David Weiss, illustrated by Tim Hopgood

Thiele, Bob and Weiss, George David. What a Wonderful World. Illustrated by Tim Hopgood. Henry Holt and Company, 1967, 2014. unp. $17.99. ISBN:978-1-62779-254-7. Gr. all. P7 Q8

Hopgood What a Wonderful WorldGrowing up in the 50’s I listened to a lot of radio and the songs that were played. One that I remember was sung by the deep crooning voice of Louis Armstrong. It wasn’t till years later that I finally saw the man, in a movie on the television screen, wiping his brow with a white handkerchief as he sang the song, “What a Wonderful World.” He had me and from there I started to listen for more of the songs he sang. When I saw this book I just had to read it and again was transported to that day when I heard Louis Armstrong singing on the radio. I didn’t read the book I sang the song and was in love once again with this tune, though I know I sang off key, but what fun it was. The illustrations by Tim Hopgood are of a young boy experiencing the joys of our world. I too enjoyed seeing the world through his eyes.

October 2015 review by Carol Bernardi.

Leave a Reply

